18 foundations in North Dakota told the IRS on the latest Form 990-PF that giving is not restricted to organizations picked in advance, and each paid at least 5 grants worth $100K or more that year. Together they paid $9.7M. The largest is Tom & Frances Leach Foundation Inc in Bismarck, which paid $2.0M across 71 grants in 2025. The ten biggest account for 86% of the state total, so most of this money sits with a small number of funders. 10 of the 18 file a submission deadline; the rest leave that line blank or point to a website. In a typical one, 33% of the year's grant dollars went to organizations it had not funded before.
Analysis by Matthew Hanauer, PhD, Chief Technology Officer at Civly, from IRS Form 990-PF filings · All states
Ranked by dollars paid in the foundation's own latest filed year. Click a column heading to sort. Deadlines print exactly as the foundation filed them, including the vague ones.
| # | Foundation | City | Latest year | Grants paid | Grants | Median grant | First-time recipients | Deadline as filed | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tom & Frances Leach Foundation Inc | Bismarck | 2025 | $2.0M | 71 | $10K | 24% | JUNE 30 WITH AWARDS MADE ANNUALLY IN NOVEMBER | $25.3M |
| 2 | Alva J Field Memorial Trust | Williston | 2024 | $1.4M | 224 | $4K | 35% | Request should be made prior to August 15th and December 15th of each semester. | $25.0M |
| 3 | Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota Caring Foundation | Fargo | 2025 | $990K | 280 | $2K | 33% | Deadlines vary. Specific details may be found at https://www.bcbsnd.com/caring-foundation/grants | $23.0M |
| 4 | Buck and Lois Scheele Foundation | Williston | 2025 | $862K | 16 | $10K | 11% | APPLICATIONS ARE ACCEPTED THROUGHOUT THE YEAR AND WILL BE REVIEWED AT BOARD MEETINGS. | $25.2M |
| 5 | Myra Foundation | Grand Forks | 2025 | $748K | 83 | $5K | 12% | APPLICATIONS ACCEPTED ANYTIME; DISTRIBUTIONS MADE AT YEAR END. | $15.6M |
| 6 | Matt and Joann Butler Foundation | Fargo | 2024 | $570K | 6 | $95K | 45% | Not stated | $11.1M |
| 7 | Alex Stern Family Foundation | Fargo | 2025 | $554K | 69 | $5K | 32% | MARCH 31 AND AUGUST 31 | $9.0M |
| 8 | Arthur and Edith Pearson Foundation | Westhope | 2025 | $418K | 23 | $15K | 12% | Not stated | $8.6M |
| 9 | Fred M Hector Jr Charitable Trust | Fargo | 2023 | $396K | 31 | $10K | 39% | SEPTEMBER 15 ANNUALLY | $19.2M |
| 10 | Mwe Scholarship Fund | Grand Forks | 2025 | $365K | 12 | $12K | 13% | Not stated | $7.9M |
| 11 | Roger L & Agnes C Dell Charitable Trust 1 | Fargo | 2025 | $348K | 23 | $10K | 40% | Not stated | $5.6M |
| 12 | John L Mccormick Memorial Tr | Fargo | 2025 | $225K | 14 | $10K | 16% | Not stated | $2.7M |
| 13 | Forum Communications Foundation | Fargo | 2024 | $137K | 11 | $2K | 12% | Not stated | $1.9M |
| 14 | Ralph Boone Charitable Foundation | Grand Forks | 2025 | $136K | 9 | $16K | 26% | Not stated | $2.2M |
| 15 | Seth Corporation | Grand Forks | 2024 | $130K | 11 | $2K | 97% | 11/17/2025 | $109K |
| 16 | Vincent Gaffney Foundation | Williston | 2024 | $126K | 20 | $3K | 73% | Not stated | $1.3M |
| 17 | Engel-kesting Foundation | Dickinson | 2025 | $108K | 8 | $14K | 38% | APPLICATIONS ARE ACCEPTED AT ANYTIME. NOTICE OF APPROVAL, REJECTION, OR REQUESTS FOR ADDITIONAL INFO | $1.7M |
| 18 | Faith and Freedom Foundation | Fargo | 2024 | $104K | 11 | $5K | 38% | SUBMISSIONS ARE RECEIVED ON AN ONGOING BASIS. | $559K |
Every one of them has its own page with the application terms as filed, every recipient, and the trustees. Where a cell says n/a the filing does not carry that figure: a first-time recipient share needs more than one year of grants on record, and the asset figure comes from the IRS business master file, which does not cover every foundation.
Every figure on this page is that foundation's own latest filed year, which is 2022 or later. A foundation is listed because its Form 990-PF says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and it paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Latest-year grants and terms per foundation from IRS 990-PF e-file returns; the newest tax year is partial until the IRS finishes releasing it. Grants are de-duplicated on funder, year, recipient and amount, so identical repeat grants collapse into one and totals can run low. Full method.
Source: IRS Form 990-PF e-file releases (public domain). Analysis: Civly.
This page names every foundation in North Dakota that will read a request. Civly Grant Matching reads your own filings, matches your programs against millions of paid grants by purpose, geography and grant size, and hands back the funders with the deadline, the restrictions and the named trustees attached.
See Grant Matching