36 foundations in New Mexico told the IRS on the latest Form 990-PF that giving is not restricted to organizations picked in advance, and each paid at least 5 grants worth $100K or more that year. Together they paid $27.7M. The largest is Gods Light in the Darkness Foundation in Carlsbad, which paid $4.5M across 43 grants in 2024. The ten biggest account for 72% of the state total, so most of this money sits with a small number of funders. 31 of the 36 file a submission deadline; the rest leave that line blank or point to a website. In a typical one, 32% of the year's grant dollars went to organizations it had not funded before.
Analysis by Matthew Hanauer, PhD, Chief Technology Officer at Civly, from IRS Form 990-PF filings · All states
Ranked by dollars paid in the foundation's own latest filed year. Click a column heading to sort. Deadlines print exactly as the foundation filed them, including the vague ones.
| # | Foundation | City | Latest year | Grants paid | Grants | Median grant | First-time recipients | Deadline as filed | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gods Light in the Darkness Foundation | Carlsbad | 2024 | $4.5M | 43 | $25K | 19% | NO SUBMISSION DEADLINES | $67.8M |
| 2 | J F Maddox Foundation | Hobbs | 2024 | $4.2M | 159 | $5K | 23% | Scholarship applications must be received by June 30th preceding applicants high school junior year. | $247.3M |
| 3 | Marshall L and Perrine D Mccune Charitable Foundation | Santa Fe | 2024 | $3.2M | 139 | $15K | 32% | SEE STATEMENTS | $97.6M |
| 4 | Brindle Foundation | Santa Fe | 2023 | $1.5M | 62 | $25K | 15% | SEE REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL DEADLINES ON WEBSITE | $33.4M |
| 5 | Frost Foundation | Santa Fe | 2024 | $1.3M | 69 | $10K | 34% | DECEMEBR 1ST FOR MARCH BOARD MEETING. JUNE 1ST FOR SEPTEMBER BOARD MEETING. | $34.3M |
| 6 | Pnm Foundation Inc | Albuquerque | 2023 | $1.3M | 159 | $5K | 34% | SEE APPLICATION | $14.2M |
| 7 | Chase Foundation | Artesia | 2024 | $1.3M | 76 | $6K | 13% | THE 2025 APPLICATION DEADLINE IS APRIL 25, 2025 FOR FALL 2025 SCHOLARSHIPS. | $36.2M |
| 8 | Con Alma Health Foundation | Santa Fe | 2024 | $1.0M | 56 | $20K | 36% | SEE WEBSITE FOR GRANT SCHEDULE. | $33.6M |
| 9 | La Liga | Sante Fe | 2025 | $842K | 31 | $20K | 32% | Not stated | $121K |
| 10 | R D & Joan Dale Hubbard Foundation | Ruidoso | 2024 | $778K | 50 | $6K | 66% | NONE-NOTICE OF ACCEPTANCE/DENIAL RETURNED IN TWO MONTHS | $12.5M |
| 11 | Written in Red Inc | Artesia | 2024 | $752K | 45 | $10K | 31% | NO DEADLINES CURRENTLY EXIST. APPLICATIONS MAY BE SUBMITTED ON AN AS NEEDED BASIS. | $4.4M |
| 12 | Meow Wolf Philanthropic Foundation | Santa Fe | 2024 | $689K | 72 | $10K | n/a | Not stated | $54K |
| 13 | Slf Foundation | Santa Fe | 2023 | $680K | 75 | $780 | 45% | ON-GOING | $2.4M |
| 14 | Nicholas H and Margaret H Carlozzi Charitable Foundation Inc | Santa Fe | 2025 | $450K | 13 | $30K | 9% | 11 1 2026 | $4.9M |
| 15 | Doris Goodwin Walbridge Foundation | Santa Fe | 2025 | $422K | 28 | $15K | 30% | Not stated | $4.8M |
| 16 | Lea County Electric Education Foundation | Lovington | 2025 | $404K | 52 | $8K | 100% | THIRD FRIDAY IN JANUARY. | $4.3M |
| 17 | Faith Hope & Love Foundation | Carlsbad | 2024 | $402K | 10 | $24K | 0% | HOURS OF OPERATION: MONDAY, TUESDAY, THURSDAY: 9AM TO 1PM. | $3.9M |
| 18 | Isora Wells Foundation | Albuquerque | 2024 | $395K | 15 | $25K | 100% | GRANT AWARDS WILL BE MADE ON OR BEFORE JUNE 30 | $7.4M |
| 19 | Rose Marie Beaty Educational Scholarship Foundation Inc | Albuquerque | 2025 | $370K | 37 | $10K | 32% | THERE IS NOT A SPECIFIC DEADLINE | $6.3M |
| 20 | Central Valley Electric Education Foundation | Artesia | 2024 | $326K | 121 | $4K | 25% | APRIL 15TH, 2024 | $2.9M |
| 21 | Frank W Yates Jr Family Foundation | Santa Fe | 2024 | $290K | 64 | $3K | 23% | Not stated | $5.4M |
| 22 | Frederick H Leonhardt Foundation | Albuquerque | 2024 | $267K | 28 | $10K | 25% | ANY TIME DURING 4 GRANT CYCLES, ENDING APPROX. 1/31, 4/30, 7/31, 10/31 | $7.5M |
| 23 | Continental Divide Electric Education Foundation | Grants | 2025 | $262K | 95 | $2K | 34% | MARCH 31, 2026 | $6.8M |
| 24 | Otero County Electric Education Foundation | Cloudcroft | 2025 | $223K | 83 | $2K | 91% | MARCH 15 | $1.8M |
| 25 | H B and Lucille Horn Foundation | Santa Fe | 2023 | $205K | 16 | $8K | 14% | THERE ARE NO SUBMISSION DEADLINS | $493K |
| 26 | Enmr Education Foundation | Clovis | 2025 | $200K | 87 | $2K | 47% | ANY SUBMISSION DEADLINES CAN BE FOUND ON THE FOUNDATION WEBSITE. HTTP://WWW.PLATEAUTEL.COM/COMPANY/ | $4.5M |
| 27 | Arnia Foundation | Albuquerque | 2024 | $186K | 75 | $2K | 35% | NONE - SUBMISSIONS ARE ONGOING | $275K |
| 28 | Remys Good Day Fund | Santa Fe | 2023 | $182K | 14 | $10K | 81% | Not stated | $15K |
| 29 | Uncle Phil Maloof Foundation | Albuquerque | 2024 | $165K | 18 | $5K | 44% | NO DEADLINES | $586K |
| 30 | Roosevelt County Electric Education Foundation | Portales | 2024 | $162K | 68 | $3K | 48% | 5 PM, FRIDAY, JANUARY 10TH, 2025 | $2.3M |
| 31 | Mary Anne Berliner Foundation Tr | Artesia | 2024 | $142K | 34 | $4K | 52% | MARCH 15TH, ANNUALLY | $2.2M |
| 32 | Robert W Umbach Cancer Foundation Inc | Farmington | 2024 | $132K | 6 | $19K | 0% | DEADLINES VARY | $2.8M |
| 33 | Rear Admiral O Douglas and Marie Coughlin Schumann Foundation | Rio Rancho | 2024 | $127K | 36 | $4K | 64% | AUGUST 31ST | $2.9M |
| 34 | Center for Educational Initiatives | Albuquerque | 2024 | $124K | 16 | $5K | 31% | APRIL 15 | $2.7M |
| 35 | Foundation of Carlo Inc | Albuquerque | 2024 | $110K | 7 | $11K | 0% | ACCEPTED FROM JANUARY 1 - APRIL 1 OF EACH YEAR | $2.0M |
| 36 | Central New Mexico Electric Education Foundation | Moriarty | 2025 | $104K | 28 | $2K | 65% | JANUARY 20TH | $549K |
The 25 largest by dollars paid have their own page with the application terms as filed, every recipient, and the trustees. The rest are listed here in full. Where a cell says n/a the filing does not carry that figure: a first-time recipient share needs more than one year of grants on record, and the asset figure comes from the IRS business master file, which does not cover every foundation.
Every figure on this page is that foundation's own latest filed year, which is 2022 or later. A foundation is listed because its Form 990-PF says it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and it paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Latest-year grants and terms per foundation from IRS 990-PF e-file returns; the newest tax year is partial until the IRS finishes releasing it. Grants are de-duplicated on funder, year, recipient and amount, so identical repeat grants collapse into one and totals can run low. Full method.
Source: IRS Form 990-PF e-file releases (public domain). Analysis: Civly.
This page names every foundation in New Mexico that will read a request. Civly Grant Matching reads your own filings, matches your programs against millions of paid grants by purpose, geography and grant size, and hands back the funders with the deadline, the restrictions and the named trustees attached.
See Grant Matching