63 foundations in Louisiana told the IRS on the latest Form 990-PF that giving is not restricted to organizations picked in advance, and each paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Together they paid $89.6M. The largest is Baptist Community Ministries in New Orleans, which paid $10.6M across 262 grants in 2024. The ten biggest account for 59% of the state total. 32 of the 63 file a submission deadline. The rest leave that line blank or point to a website. At the median foundation, 23% of the year's grant dollars went to organizations it had not funded before.
Analysis by Matthew Hanauer, PhD, Chief Technology Officer at Civly, from IRS Form 990-PF filings · All states
Foundations are ranked by dollars paid in each one's latest filed year. Click a column heading to sort. Deadlines are shown as filed.
| # | Foundation | City | Latest year | Grants paid | Grants | Median grant | First-time recipients | Deadline as filed | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Baptist Community Ministries | New Orleans | 2024 | $10.6M | 262 | $10K | 7% | MARCH 15 AND SEPTEMBER 15 | $397.5M |
| 2 | Gayle and Tom Benson Charitablefoundation | Metairie | 2024 | $9.6M | 93 | $5K | 33% | Not stated | $89K |
| 3 | Goldring Family Foundation | Metairie | 2024 | $6.9M | 300 | $7K | 29% | Not stated | $199.2M |
| 4 | Huey and Angelina Wilson Foundation | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $5.8M | 104 | $40K | 24% | ON-LINE SUBMISSION ONLY GRANT REQUESTS ARE DUE THE 4TH FRIDAY OF FEBRUARY & AUGUST OF EACH YEAR. | $170.5M |
| 5 | Patrick F Taylor Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $3.7M | 109 | $8K | 34% | NO LIMITATIONS | $45.5M |
| 6 | Edward G Schlieder Educational Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $3.7M | 12 | $333K | 20% | Not stated | $64.2M |
| 7 | Booth-bricker Fund | New Orleans | 2025 | $3.5M | 57 | $5K | 19% | QUARTERLY | $48.3M |
| 8 | Sharon and Claude B@pennington Family Foundation | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $3.1M | 48 | $4K | n/a | Not stated | $37.4M |
| 9 | Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Foundation | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $3.0M | 62 | $33K | 34% | SEE STATEMENT 9 | $35.2M |
| 10 | Helis Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $2.4M | 84 | $10K | 10% | There are no submission deadlines | $83.0M |
| 11 | H & B Young Foundation | Morgan City | 2024 | $2.3M | 44 | $12K | 4% | Not stated | $30.3M |
| 12 | Grayson Foundation Inc | Shreveport | 2024 | $2.1M | 34 | $26K | 3% | JULY 31 | $40.0M |
| 13 | Donald Palmer Charitable Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $1.9M | 11 | $50K | 40% | Not stated | $29.5M |
| 14 | Pennington Family Foundation | Denham Spgs | 2024 | $1.9M | 57 | $16K | n/a | Not stated | $37.8M |
| 15 | Lois and Lloyd Hawkins Jr Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $1.8M | 17 | $50K | 1% | Not stated | $43.9M |
| 16 | Lincoln Health Foundation | Ruston | 2023 | $1.7M | 18 | $37K | 8% | SEE ATTACHED GRANT APPLICATION AND GUIDELINES. | $29.3M |
| 17 | Eye Ear Nose & Throat Foundation | New Orleans | 2025 | $1.7M | 14 | $36K | 2% | Not stated | $72.3M |
| 18 | Woldenberg Foundation | Metairie | 2024 | $1.6M | 115 | $5K | 23% | Not stated | $23.6M |
| 19 | Carolyn W and Charles T Beaird Family Foundation | Shreveport | 2024 | $1.6M | 160 | $2K | 29% | SEMI-ANNUAL DEADLINES: JANUARY 5TH AND JULY 21ST | $22.3M |
| 20 | Mary & Al Danos Family Foundation | Gray | 2024 | $1.5M | 15 | $65K | 19% | Not stated | $29.6M |
| 21 | Charles Lamar Family Foundation | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $1.5M | 47 | $21K | 38% | VARIES | $13.8M |
| 22 | Gustaf Westfeldt Mcilhenny Family Foundation | Metairie | 2024 | $1.2M | 75 | $6K | 11% | FALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY SEPTEMBER 30. | $20.3M |
| 23 | J Edgar Monroe Foundation 1976 | Metairie | 2024 | $1.0M | 76 | $5K | 12% | Non-Specified | $10.8M |
| 24 | Eugenie & Joseph Jones Family Foundation | New Orleans | 2025 | $1.0M | 52 | $12K | 43% | The submission deadline is 15th day of the month before the set meeting date. | $15.9M |
| 25 | Almar Foundation | New Orleans | 2025 | $1.0M | 121 | $5K | 33% | Not stated | $17.0M |
| 26 | Louise H Moffett Family Foundation | Metairie | 2024 | $1.0M | 111 | $4K | 31% | Not stated | $30K |
| 27 | Good Forever Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $992K | 15 | $23K | 99% | Not stated | $18.1M |
| 28 | Collins C Diboll Private Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $858K | 19 | $10K | 14% | VARIOUS - DETAILS ON WEBSITE COLLINSCDIBOLLFOUNDATION.ORG | $24.9M |
| 29 | German Protestant Orphan Asylum Association | New Orleans | 2024 | $793K | 47 | $20K | 50% | GRANT DECISIONS ARE MADE TWO TIMES A YEAR: FEBRUARY AND AUGUST. | $16.3M |
| 30 | Noel Foundation Inc | Shreveport | 2024 | $725K | 21 | $30K | 27% | Not stated | $22.9M |
| 31 | Wheless Foundation | Shreveport | 2024 | $688K | 47 | $10K | 15% | NO DEADLINES | $10.8M |
| 32 | Rockhold Family Foundation Inc | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $575K | 26 | $20K | 17% | THERE IS NO DEADLINE | $11.7M |
| 33 | Board of Trustees of Libby-dufour Fund | New Orleans | 2025 | $518K | 13 | $25K | 56% | Not stated | $9.1M |
| 34 | Merice Boo Johnston Grigsby Foundation a Nonprofit Corporation | Baton Rouge | 2025 | $481K | 31 | $10K | 36% | FOUR PER YEAR - 3/15, 6/15, 9/15 & AND 12/15 | $4.5M |
| 35 | Wallace Landry Family Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $460K | 37 | $3K | 11% | NONE - YEAR ROUND ACCEPTANCE | $9.8M |
| 36 | B a & E a Steinhagen Benevolent Trust | New Orleans | 2024 | $436K | 22 | $13K | 41% | ALL FORMS MUST BE RECEIVED BY MAY 31ST | $6.7M |
| 37 | Albert and Yetta Lupin Memorial Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $408K | 27 | $15K | 28% | Not stated | $9.1M |
| 38 | Thistlewood Foundation | Lafayette | 2025 | $357K | 5 | $32K | 51% | THERE IS NO PRE-DETERMINED DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS. | $3.7M |
| 39 | Mcgehee Foundation | Ruston | 2024 | $315K | 21 | $5K | 3% | Not stated | $5.3M |
| 40 | Danos Foundation | Gray | 2024 | $292K | 77 | $390 | 56% | AUGUST 31ST | $427K |
| 41 | R C Colton Jr Foundation Inc | New Orleans | 2024 | $284K | 8 | $15K | 24% | Not stated | $3.6M |
| 42 | Arthur and Joyce Trowbridge Foundation Inc | Shreveport | 2025 | $283K | 10 | $30K | 75% | Not stated | $6.7M |
| 43 | Florence Mauboules Charitable Trust | Crowley | 2024 | $271K | 141 | $500 | 22% | NONE DEFINED | $1.6M |
| 44 | Ana & Adeline Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $271K | 67 | $1K | 14% | CONTACT THE ORGANIZATION FOR ADDITIONAL DETAILS | $231K |
| 45 | Fine Family Foundation | Metairie | 2025 | $258K | 20 | $10K | 46% | Not stated | $2.7M |
| 46 | Smallpage Family Foundation Inc | Harahan | 2024 | $254K | 40 | $2K | 12% | Not stated | $6.1M |
| 47 | Fanny Edith Winn Educational Tr | Crowley | 2025 | $241K | 26 | $2K | 0% | NONE DEFINED | $3.6M |
| 48 | Charlie Mcclendon Scholarship | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $240K | 9 | $5K | n/a | Not stated | $2.0M |
| 49 | Angel Wings Foundation | Metairie | 2024 | $234K | 43 | $2K | 12% | Not stated | $4.7M |
| 50 | Crow Foundation | Shreveport | 2025 | $208K | 41 | $5K | 10% | NO DEADLINES | $1.9M |
| 51 | Jones S Davis Foundation | Baton Rouge | 2024 | $189K | 26 | $4K | 26% | Not stated | $2.0M |
| 52 | Baton Rouge State Fair Foundation | Baton Rouge | 2022 | $170K | 18 | $8K | 48% | WORTHY CAUSE GRANT APPLICATIONS ARE DUE BY MARCH 31. HS VOLUNTEER VARIES, BUT IS USUALLY MARCH 31. | $1.6M |
| 53 | Chambers Medical Foundation Tr | Lake Charles | 2024 | $169K | 12 | $5K | 38% | Not stated | $3.4M |
| 54 | Magale Foundation | Shreveport | 2024 | $155K | 14 | $8K | 0% | Received by foundation on or before April 1st of each year | $2.4M |
| 55 | Salmen Family Foundation | Metairie | 2024 | $154K | 19 | $5K | 16% | Not stated | $2.8M |
| 56 | William T & Ethel Lewis Burton Foundation | Lake Charles | 2024 | $148K | 5 | $12K | 25% | Not stated | $4.2M |
| 57 | Harper Family Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $141K | 10 | $14K | 0% | NO DEADLINES. | $2.1M |
| 58 | Ronnie & Gwen Briggs Foundation | Abita Springs | 2025 | $131K | 19 | $4K | 29% | Not stated | $1.7M |
| 59 | Poindexter Foundation Inc | Shreveport | 2024 | $126K | 22 | $5K | 3% | Not stated | $2.2M |
| 60 | Jack and Charlotte Owen Education Scholarship Trust | New Orleans | 2025 | $121K | 17 | $5K | 20% | APRIL OF CURRENT YEAR | $1.3M |
| 61 | Corporate Works of Mercy Foundation Inc | Mansura | 2025 | $120K | 67 | $700 | 33% | NO ANNUAL DEADLINE APPLICATIONS ARE REVIEWED AND AWARDED AS RECEIVED. APPLICATIONS AND REWARDS AND R | $230K |
| 62 | Jeff Davis Diagnostic Center Inc | Jennings | 2024 | $113K | 6 | $2K | 4% | Not stated | $1.9M |
| 63 | Weishaupt Family Foundation | New Orleans | 2024 | $102K | 20 | $4K | 32% | 1231 | $2.2M |
26 of them, led by the largest by dollars paid, have their own page with the application terms as filed, every recipient, and the trustees. The rest are listed here in full. Where a cell says n/a the filing does not carry that figure: a first-time recipient share needs more than one year of grants on record, and the asset figure comes from the IRS business master file, which does not cover every foundation.
Each figure comes from each foundation's latest filed year, 2022 or later. A foundation is listed when its Form 990-PF says giving is not restricted to preselected organizations and it paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Grants and application terms come from each foundation's latest IRS 990-PF e-file return. The newest tax year is partial until the IRS finishes releasing it. Grants are de-duplicated on funder, year, recipient and amount, so identical repeat grants count once and totals can run low. Full method.
Source: IRS Form 990-PF e-file releases (public domain). Analysis: Civly.
Civly Grant Matching reads your own filings, matches your programs against millions of paid grants by purpose, geography and grant size, and returns the funders with the deadline, the restrictions and the named trustees.
See Grant Matching