52 foundations in Hawaii told the IRS on the latest Form 990-PF that giving is not restricted to organizations picked in advance, and each paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Together they paid $45.6M. The largest is Harold K L Castle Foundation in Kailua, which paid $6.6M across 105 grants in 2024. The ten biggest account for 64% of the state total. 28 of the 52 file a submission deadline. The rest leave that line blank or point to a website. At the median foundation, 30% of the year's grant dollars went to organizations it had not funded before.
Analysis by Matthew Hanauer, PhD, Chief Technology Officer at Civly, from IRS Form 990-PF filings · All states
Foundations are ranked by dollars paid in each one's latest filed year. Click a column heading to sort. Deadlines are shown as filed.
| # | Foundation | City | Latest year | Grants paid | Grants | Median grant | First-time recipients | Deadline as filed | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Harold K L Castle Foundation | Kailua | 2024 | $6.6M | 105 | $25K | 17% | SEE STATEMENT 14 - ATTACHMENT | $171.3M |
| 2 | Clarence T C Ching Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $5.4M | 63 | $25K | 30% | DEADLINES ARE JANUARY 31ST AND JULY 31ST; APPLICATIONS ARE REVIEWED AND APPROVED OR DENIED IN MARCH | $131.8M |
| 3 | Kosasa Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $5.2M | 84 | $45K | 35% | Not stated | $159.4M |
| 4 | Hmsa Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $2.1M | 19 | $50K | 8% | Not stated | $16.3M |
| 5 | Frost Family Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $2.0M | 17 | $75K | 13% | ANNUALLY THE FOUNDATION CURATES A SMALL GROUP OF NEW GRANTEES. CURRENTLY OUR GRANTS ARE BY INVITATIO | $7.2M |
| 6 | First Hawaiian Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $1.8M | 69 | $25K | 32% | Applications are accepted at any time. | $5.7M |
| 7 | James and Abigail Campbell Family Foundation | Kapolei | 2024 | $1.6M | 26 | $25K | 79% | GRANT APPLICATION MUST BE POSTMARKED BY: FEB. 1 FOR THE APRIL MTG.; AUG. 1 FOR THE OCTOBER MTG. | $30.8M |
| 8 | Strong Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $1.6M | 15 | $100K | 87% | MARCH IST. | $25.4M |
| 9 | Tradewind Group Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $1.5M | 146 | $5K | 41% | OPEN YEAR ROUND | $45.1M |
| 10 | Bank of Hawaii Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $1.4M | 40 | $25K | 19% | GRANT REQUESTS MAY BE SUBMITTED AT ANY TIME. | $1.7M |
| 11 | Cooke Foundation Limited | Honolulu | 2024 | $1.3M | 53 | $18K | 41% | AUGUST 1 & MARCH 1 OF THE FISCAL YEAR. | $16.0M |
| 12 | Hawaii Realtors Charitable Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $1.3M | 568 | $2K | 100% | DECEMBER 31, 2024 | $102K |
| 13 | Ama Olukai Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $1.2M | 17 | $12K | 96% | Not stated | $92K |
| 14 | Charles & Mitch Ota Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $1.1M | 31 | $30K | 14% | MAY 1, SEPT 1, DEC 1, OR FEB 1. | $22.6M |
| 15 | Central Pacific Bank Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $816K | 41 | $10K | 32% | Not stated | $9.9M |
| 16 | Armstrong Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $749K | 11 | $2K | 87% | NO SUBMISSION DEADLINES. | $173K |
| 17 | Cades Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $711K | 61 | $8K | 4% | Not stated | $14.1M |
| 18 | J Watumull Fund | Honolulu | 2024 | $664K | 268 | $2K | 36% | APPLICATIONS ACCEPTED ANYTIME. | $12.1M |
| 19 | Hans & Clara Davis Zimmerman Fdtn | Honolulu | 2025 | $589K | 55 | $6K | 7% | Not stated | $13.4M |
| 20 | I Michael & Beth Kasser Foundation | Kailua Kona | 2025 | $580K | 5 | $100K | 66% | THERE ARE NO SUBMISSION DEADLINES. | $3.1M |
| 21 | First Insurance Company of Hawaii Charitable Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $506K | 83 | $5K | 13% | Not stated | $10.7M |
| 22 | Altres Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $504K | 87 | $500 | 73% | Not stated | $4.8M |
| 23 | Antone and Edene Vidinha Trust | Honolulu | 2024 | $382K | 8 | $50K | 45% | DECEMBER 1ST 11:59PM | $6.7M |
| 24 | Teresa F Hughes Trust Uw | Honolulu | 2025 | $365K | 10 | $38K | 14% | APRIL 30 11:59PM | $8.1M |
| 25 | Winslow Family Foundation | Kamuela | 2024 | $310K | 11 | $10K | 3% | Not stated | $6.9M |
| 26 | Henry and Colene Wong Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $300K | 14 | $20K | 23% | Not stated | $5.6M |
| 27 | Fred Baldwin Memorial Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $290K | 45 | $5K | 41% | FEBRUARY 1 & AUGUST 2 | $5.5M |
| 28 | Marshall and Yuko Hung Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $290K | 16 | $10K | 14% | Not stated | $4.9M |
| 29 | John Chin Young Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $280K | 12 | $11K | 14% | Not stated | $4.5M |
| 30 | James and Juanita C Wo Foundation | Mililani | 2024 | $270K | 14 | $20K | 24% | Not stated | $3.1M |
| 31 | Servco Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $267K | 39 | $2K | 100% | ANNUALLY, AT THE END OF FEBRUARY. | $3.9M |
| 32 | Shiraki Memorial Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $263K | 18 | $14K | 63% | Not stated | $3.1M |
| 33 | Hung Wo & Elizabeth Ching Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $254K | 42 | $4K | 27% | Not stated | $3.7M |
| 34 | Makana Aloha Foundation | Kailua | 2024 | $227K | 16 | $10K | 21% | Not stated | $5.1M |
| 35 | Robert and Betty Wo Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $225K | 12 | $5K | 39% | NONE AT PRESENT | $1.7M |
| 36 | Honda Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $218K | 23 | $5K | 30% | Not stated | $4.6M |
| 37 | Thomas and Sumie Mccabe Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $200K | 13 | $15K | 35% | APPLICANTS MUST SUBMIT THE COMPLETED APPLICATION AT THE FOUNDATION'S ADDRESS POSTMARKED NO LATER THA | $2.5M |
| 38 | Kenneth and Diane Matsuura Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $198K | 52 | $850 | 10% | CONTACT FOUNDATION | $2.2M |
| 39 | Castiglione a Casauria Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $195K | 23 | $5K | 21% | September 30th of each year | $2.8M |
| 40 | Grove Farm Company Foundation | Lihue | 2025 | $192K | 61 | $2K | 50% | Year-round | $5.2M |
| 41 | Locations Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $191K | 36 | $5K | 8% | NONE AT PRESENT | $1.1M |
| 42 | Minami Community Foundation | Kaneohe | 2025 | $170K | 7 | $15K | 89% | Not stated | $2.9M |
| 43 | Turtle Bay Foundation | Kahuku | 2024 | $156K | 54 | $1K | 91% | OCTOBER 14, 2021 | $512K |
| 44 | Masayuki and Harue Tokioka Foundation Inc | Honolulu | 2024 | $139K | 45 | $2K | 56% | No deadlines - applications accepted on an ongoing basis. | $673K |
| 45 | Dolores Furtado Martin Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $138K | 8 | $10K | 12% | Not stated | $3.3M |
| 46 | Waimakua Foundation | Lihue | 2024 | $135K | 22 | $2K | 3% | Not stated | $2.2M |
| 47 | Chung Kun Ai Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $131K | 49 | $1K | 21% | Not stated | $2.4M |
| 48 | Public Health Fund of the Chamber of Commerce of Hawaii | Honolulu | 2024 | $130K | 7 | $10K | 92% | THE DEADLINES FOR SUBMITTING GRANT PROPOSALS EVERY YEAR ARE JUNE 15 AND DECEMBER 15 | $2.1M |
| 49 | Ululani Foundation | Kailua Kona | 2024 | $125K | 7 | $15K | 8% | Not stated | $3.6M |
| 50 | Louise and Y T Lum Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $115K | 22 | $5K | 9% | NO SUBMISSION DEADLINES | $2.4M |
| 51 | Davis Levin Livingston Charitable Foundation | Honolulu | 2024 | $112K | 11 | $10K | 38% | Not stated | $980K |
| 52 | Ouida and Doc Hill Foundation | Honolulu | 2025 | $100K | 7 | $11K | 0% | Not stated | $1.6M |
27 of them, led by the largest by dollars paid, have their own page with the application terms as filed, every recipient, and the trustees. The rest are listed here in full. Where a cell says n/a the filing does not carry that figure: a first-time recipient share needs more than one year of grants on record, and the asset figure comes from the IRS business master file, which does not cover every foundation.
Each figure comes from each foundation's latest filed year, 2022 or later. A foundation is listed when its Form 990-PF says giving is not restricted to preselected organizations and it paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Grants and application terms come from each foundation's latest IRS 990-PF e-file return. The newest tax year is partial until the IRS finishes releasing it. Grants are de-duplicated on funder, year, recipient and amount, so identical repeat grants count once and totals can run low. Full method.
Source: IRS Form 990-PF e-file releases (public domain). Analysis: Civly.
Civly Grant Matching reads your own filings, matches your programs against millions of paid grants by purpose, geography and grant size, and returns the funders with the deadline, the restrictions and the named trustees.
See Grant Matching