24 foundations in Mississippi told the IRS on the latest Form 990-PF that giving is not restricted to organizations picked in advance, and each paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Together they paid $36.4M. The largest is Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi Foundation in Flowood, which paid $8.3M across 10 grants in 2025. The ten biggest account for 85% of the state total. 13 of the 24 file a submission deadline. The rest leave that line blank or point to a website. At the median foundation, 18% of the year's grant dollars went to organizations it had not funded before.
Analysis by Matthew Hanauer, PhD, Chief Technology Officer at Civly, from IRS Form 990-PF filings · All states
Foundations are ranked by dollars paid in each one's latest filed year. Click a column heading to sort. Deadlines are shown as filed.
| # | Foundation | City | Latest year | Grants paid | Grants | Median grant | First-time recipients | Deadline as filed | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi Foundation | Flowood | 2025 | $8.3M | 10 | $170K | 10% | Not stated | $167.7M |
| 2 | Luckyday Foundation | Jackson | 2024 | $6.4M | 12 | $10K | 38% | APPLICATIONS ARE ACCEPTED AT ANY TIME. SUCCESSFUL APPLICANTS ARE USUALLY NOTIFIED WITHIN THREE MONTH | $146.6M |
| 3 | Phil Hardin Foundation | Meridian | 2025 | $4.5M | 76 | $35K | 19% | CONTACT PHIL HARDIN FOUNDATION-LLOYD GRAY | $61.9M |
| 4 | The Riley Foundation | Meridian | 2025 | $3.7M | 20 | $4K | 0% | REFER TO WEBSITE | $101.0M |
| 5 | Mississippi Power Foundation Inc | Gulfport | 2025 | $2.2M | 75 | $10K | 50% | NO SUBMISSION DEADLINES | $65.1M |
| 6 | Robert M Hearin Foundation | Ridgeland | 2024 | $2.0M | 9 | $130K | 0% | Not stated | $33.4M |
| 7 | W E Walker Foundation | Ridgeland | 2025 | $1.1M | 72 | $10K | 39% | Not stated | $15.7M |
| 8 | Sonedna Foundation | Oxford | 2024 | $959K | 9 | $32K | 38% | NO SET DEADLINES | $6.0M |
| 9 | Feild Co-operative Association Incorporated | Ridgeland | 2024 | $838K | 59 | $10K | 11% | 6-8 WEEKS BEFORE A SEMESTER BEGINS | $31.8M |
| 10 | Warren a Hood Jr Family Foundation | Hattiesburg | 2025 | $833K | 15 | $15K | 55% | Not stated | $33.6M |
| 11 | Lower Pearl River Valley Foundation | Picayune | 2024 | $764K | 19 | $28K | 3% | SEE ATTACHED GRANT REQUEST | $27.4M |
| 12 | C Spire Wireless Foundation | Ridgeland | 2025 | $617K | 41 | $8K | 16% | 90 | $364K |
| 13 | Kenosis Foundation | Taylor | 2025 | $612K | 32 | $7K | 17% | GRANT LETTERS OF INQUIRY ARE ACCEPTED THROUGHOUT THE YEAR. | $4.0M |
| 14 | Gilmore Sanitarium Inc | Amory | 2025 | $587K | 17 | $10K | 11% | Not stated | n/a |
| 15 | Leo Seal Family Foundation | Bay St Louis | 2024 | $563K | 62 | $9K | 21% | NO DEADLINES | $11.6M |
| 16 | The T H Etheridge Trust | Flowood | 2024 | $515K | 44 | $1K | 1% | Not stated | $8.0M |
| 17 | James W Hood Family Foundation | Jackson | 2024 | $354K | 8 | $6K | 3% | Not stated | $20.5M |
| 18 | William Robert Baird Charitable Tr Citizens Natl Bank Ttee | Meridian | 2025 | $314K | 16 | $15K | 0% | APPLICATIONS CAN BE SUBMITTED AT ANY TIME | $4.8M |
| 19 | D a Biglane Foundation | Natchez | 2025 | $222K | 40 | $5K | 36% | JUNE 1ST OF EACH YEAR | $1.1M |
| 20 | Family Care Foundation | Hattiesburg | 2025 | $218K | 28 | $3K | 6% | Not stated | $957K |
| 21 | Burdette Family Foundation | Pass Chris | 2024 | $200K | 55 | $2K | 26% | NO SUBMISSION DEADLINES | $4.2M |
| 22 | Butler Snow Omara Stevens & Cannada Foundation | Ridgeland | 2024 | $200K | 21 | $8K | 100% | Not stated | $983K |
| 23 | Florence Foundation | Moss Point | 2025 | $195K | 18 | $10K | 30% | Not stated | $3.2M |
| 24 | Twordc Foundation | Jackson | 2025 | $138K | 6 | $15K | 20% | Not stated | $866K |
Every one of them has its own page with the application terms as filed, every recipient, and the trustees. Where a cell says n/a the filing does not carry that figure: a first-time recipient share needs more than one year of grants on record, and the asset figure comes from the IRS business master file, which does not cover every foundation.
Each figure comes from each foundation's latest filed year, 2022 or later. A foundation is listed when its Form 990-PF says giving is not restricted to preselected organizations and it paid at least 5 grants totaling $100K or more that year. Grants and application terms come from each foundation's latest IRS 990-PF e-file return. The newest tax year is partial until the IRS finishes releasing it. Grants are de-duplicated on funder, year, recipient and amount, so identical repeat grants count once and totals can run low. Full method.
Source: IRS Form 990-PF e-file releases (public domain). Analysis: Civly.
Civly Grant Matching reads your own filings, matches your programs against millions of paid grants by purpose, geography and grant size, and returns the funders with the deadline, the restrictions and the named trustees.
See Grant Matching